Opera Gala with Award Ceremony

In cooperation with the Semperoper Foundation

The Semperoper Foundation Prize honours outstanding artists who belong to or are closely associated with the Semperoper. This reflects the Foundation’s aim of promoting artistic excellence and diversity at the historic Saxon State Opera. At the same time, the Prize, which has been awarded since 1993, is intended to strengthen and extend the global reputation of the Semperoper. The list of recent recipients includes Christian Thielemann, Evelyn Herlitzius, Georg Zeppenfeld, the Semperoper Ballett, Jón Vallejo and Omer Meir Wellber.

From the 2021/22 season, the Foundation Prize will carry the additional title »Award of the founder and benefactor of the Semperoper Foundation, Senator Rudi Häussler« in recognition of his extraordinary long-standing commitment to the opera house.