Bringing the Music Home

Concert of the New Jewish Chamber Philharmonic Dresden with works by Marc Lavry, Miklós Rózsa and Franz Waxman

Opening Concert of the series of events »Umanut weChaim – Art and Life« in the framework of »1,700 Years of Jewish Life in Germany«

»Bringing the Music Home« – that’s what Michael Hurshell, the director of the New Jewish Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra of Dresden (founded in 2007), has called the opening concert of the series of events celebrating 1,700 years of Jewish life in Germany. The programme features composers with links to Saxony, namely Franz Waxman (1906-1967), who studied in Dresden, as well as the Leipzig-trained Miklós Rózsa (1907-1995) and Marc Lavry (1903-1967), along with the work of Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957) and the Viennese composer and student of Anton Bruckner, Robert Fuchs (1847-1927), who today is practically forgotten. In 2017, the New Jewish Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra was awarded the international Hosenfeld-Szpilman Prize for its commitment to the performance of neglected works by persecuted Jewish composers.


Grußwort des Intendanten der Sächsischen Staatsoper Peter Theiler
Grußwort der Staatsministerin für Kultur und Tourismus Barbara Klepsch

Marc Lavry (1903-1967)
Al Naharot Bavel (An den Flüssen Babylons), Tondichtung op. 33 (1935)

Miklós Rózsa (1907-1995)
Andante op 22a (1950 / 1992)
Andante con moto

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
Sextett op 10 (1914-16)
I. Moderato  
IV. Finale, Presto »mit Feuer und Humor« 
(für Streichorchester bearbeitet von Michael Hurshell)

Richard Fuchs (1887-1947)
Hymnus an Gott (1933)

Franz Waxman (1906-1967)
Sinfonietta für Streichorchester und Pauken (1955)
I. Lento – Allegro
II. »Dirge« (Klage)
III. Finale – Scherzo