2021 at the Semperoper Dresden

»Der Ring des Nibelungen«

by Richard Wagner


Conductor  Christian Thielemann
Staging  Willy Decker
 

29 Jan & 7 Feb 2021  Das Rheingold
30 Jan & 8 Feb 2021  Die Walküre/The Valkyrie
1 Feb & 10 Feb 2021  Siegfried
3 Feb & 12 Feb 2021  Götterdämmerung

In 2021 Willy Decker’s production of »Der Ring des Nibelungen« returns to the stage of the Semperoper Dresden. Principal Conductor Christian Thielemann, an acclaimed Wagner specialist, will direct the Dresden Staatskapelle, whom Richard Wagner called his »miraculous harp«, in this psychologically penetrating and musically explosive drama of gods and men. It was during his tenure as the Saxon court’s Kapellmeister that Richard Wagner decided to compose a work around the Nibelungen legend, and indeed the first reading of the draft libretto was held in Dresden.

Read More

Intending to write a great opera about the hero Siegfried, Wagner ended up creating a tetralogy consisting of a preliminary evening and three days. The complete cycle was premiered in 1876 in the Festspielhaus in Bayreuth, specially built for this magnum opus. Aided by a fabulous ensemble of singers, Willy Decker’s production places the battle for the power of the ring within a theatre, which becomes the backdrop for the demise of the gods and the rise of man. Thereby, the boundary between stage and reality becomes ever more blurred. This is a powerful interpretation of Wagner’s music drama, featuring heartrending characters and fantastic images.

Special conditions of sale for the »Ring«-cycles

The performances of the two »Ring«-cycles can initially only be purchased as complete packages. Tickets may be ordered in writing (email, fax, letter, order form) from 20 to 24 April 2020 for seating categories 1 to 6 as well as seats in the royal box. Orders received before 20 April 2020 will not be considered. A maximum of 2 cycles can be ordered per booking request.

Should demand exceed availability, tickets will be allocated by drawing lots rather than by the »first come, first served« principle. Reservation offers will be sent out within a period of six weeks from 27 April 2020. Payment for reservations must be made within the indicated two-week deadline. Unpaid reservations will be automatically cancelled after expiry of the payment deadline. If you have not received notification of your reservation by 8 June 2020, this means that unfortunately your request could not be considered.

Cycle price per person
Euro 1000 / 810 / 725 / 599 / 518 / 395 / 217

Sales of remaining tickets for individual performances

Remaining tickets for the individual performances of the »Ring«-cycles can be purchased from 10 am on 1 September 2020 at our daytime box office, online as well as by email. A maximum of 2 tickets per person can be booked for the individual performances of the Ring cycles.

Lecture series on the Dresden »Ring«

To celebrate the two complete »Ring« cycles, the Semperoper is presenting a »Ring« lecture series in cooperation with the city’s »Carl Maria von Weber« College of Music and the Saxon Academy of the Arts. The lectures are scheduled on days between the performances to enable all »Ring« ticket holders to participate as well as any other interested opera fans. Two experts will give a talk at each event before entering into discussion with each other and the audience.

Read more

2021 in der Semperoper Dresden

Der Ring des Nibelungen

von Richard Wagner


Musikalische Leitung  Christian Thielemann
Inszenierung  Willy Decker
 

29.1. & 7.2.2021  Das Rheingold
30.1. & 8.2.2021  Die Walküre
1.2. & 10.2.2021  Siegfried
3.2. & 12.2.2021  Götterdämmerung

2021 kehrt »Der Ring des Nibelungen« in der Inszenierung von Willy Decker auf die Bühne der Semperoper Dresden zurück. In zwei zyklischen Aufführungen steht Chefdirigent Christian Thielemann am Pult der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden, der bedeutendste Wagnerdirigent, der dieses musikalisch fulminante und in seiner Psychologie aufs Feinste ausgearbeitete Weltendrama gemeinsam mit der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden, die Richard Wagner selbst als seine »Wunderharfe« bezeichnete, zum Klingen bringen wird.

Weiterlesen

In Dresden kam Richard Wagner die Idee zum Nibelungen-Stoff während seiner Zeit als Königlich-Sächsischer Hofkapellmeister, in die auch die erste Lesung des kompletten Prosa-Entwurfes fiel. Eine große Oper über den Helden Siegfried wollte er schaffen. Aus einer Oper wurde schließlich eine Tetralogie mit einem Vorabend und drei Tagen, die erstmals 1876 im eigens dafür gebauten Bayreuther Festspielhaus als Zyklus uraufgeführt wurde. In der Regie von Willy Decker und mit einer großartigen Sängerbesetzung entspinnt sich das Spiel um die Macht des Ringes und die Genesis vom Götter- zum Menschengeschlecht auf dem Theater. Die Grenzen zwischen Bühne und Realität scheinen dabei immer mehr zu verschwimmen. Kraftvoll fasst Willy Decker Wagners Musikdrama in abgründige Charaktere und fantastische Bilder.

Verkaufsbedingungen für die Ring-Zyklen

Der Vorverkauf für die Vorstellungen der beiden Ring-Zyklen ist beendet. Sollte die Kartennachfrage die verfügbare Kartenanzahl übersteigen, entscheidet nicht der Posteingang der Bestellung, sondern das Losverfahren. Reservierungsangebote werden ab dem 27. April 2020 innerhalb von sechs Wochen versandt. Die Bezahlung der erhaltenen Reservierungen muss innerhalb der darauf angegebenen zweiwöchigen Zahlungsfrist erfolgen. Nicht bezahlte Reservierungen werden nach Überschreiten der Zahlungsfrist automatisch wieder aufgelöst. Sollten Sie bis zum 8. Juni 2020 kein Reservierungsangebot erhalten haben, konnte Ihre Anfrage leider nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Zyklus-Preis pro Person
Euro 1000 / 810 / 725 / 599 / 518 / 395 / 217

Verkaufsstart der Restkarten für die Einzelvorstellungen

Restkarten für die Einzelvorstellungen der Ring-Zyklen können ab 1. September 2020, 10 Uhr erworben werden: vor Ort an der Tageskasse, online sowie schriftlich per E-Mail. Pro Person können maximal 2 Karten für die Einzelvorstellungen der Ring-Zyklen gebucht werden. 

Dresdner »Ring«-Vorlesung

Anlässlich der beiden »Ring-Zyklen« veranstaltet die Semperoper in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber sowie der Sächsischen Akademie der Künste eine »Ring«-Vorlesung. Die Termine der Vorträge liegen an den Tagen zwischen den Vorstellungen, so dass für all jene, die die Vorstellungen besuchen, aber natürlich auch für alle darüber hinaus Interessierten, der Besuch möglich ist. An jedem Termin werden zwei Referent*innen je einen Vortrag halten, und anschließend darüber untereinander und mit dem Publikum in Diskussion treten. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.

Mehr Infos